Apple – I Just Don’t Get It

Apple unveils new MacBook Air, previews revamped Mac OS X – Yahoo! News

Okay, so some minor build up as Apple announces two new laptop models… MacBook Air 11″ and 13″ models. Here’s what caught my eye (and what I don’t get about the whole Apple thing):

Starting at $1,299 for the new 13-inch Air ($200 cheaper than last year’s entry-level Air) and $999 for the 11.6-inch version, both models sport Intel Core 2 Duo processors…

Core 2 Duo? Thats an old processor model… Intel Core i processors have been out for months – why is Apple attempting to sell new sizzle with an older line of processors? And at those prices?!!

I just bought a 13″ Dell Vostro with Core i5 processor, 4Gb RAM and 230Gb hard drive for $580. That was tax, license, shipping… EVERYTHING… delivered to my door in two days. And I could have gotten it for a lot less if I chose a Core 2 Duo processor!

I just don’t understand how Apple mesmerizes their customers into paying top dollar for what is quite simply older generation performance.

Oh, and I do own an iPod Touch so I’m not just a PC guy slamming anything Apple.

Leave a Reply

